Twas the Night Before the First Big Adventure

Our first big RV trip is finally tomorrow and we can’t wait!  Actually we’re a little tired from the prep, but it has been well worth it.  In the past few months that prep included installing a residential refrigerator and painting the bedroom.  Well, I can’t take credit for the refrigerator part except that I slowed it down with my painting efforts.  Did you know I am a terrible painter?  Let’s just say I did my best and Pat practiced patience.

IMG_20160405_111704587

The refrigerator is awesome and will now hold a reasonable amount of food for two.  We should also now be able to keep fresh produce for more than a day without freezing it on the first overnight.  Of course the best news is that we can carry ice cream.  That’s really Pat’s best news, because he truly loves his ice cream.  We can also keep the fridge running while we drive so we don’t have to worry about everything getting too warm during travel.  I know this is not a terribly exciting picture, but I’ve been told to include more pictures.  So, here is the brand new refrigerator!  Pat still has a little trim work, but other than that it is ready to go and there is food in there, too.

 

Back to the bedroom upgrade.  For those of you who know RV interiors, you know they are predominantly brown.  For those of you who don’t know, let me just confirm, brown, brown and more brown – brown cabinets, brown trim and some sort of brown random patterned wallpaper.  I’m not anti-brown, but if I’m going to be living in the RV, we need a little color.  I checked out Pinterest pics and found some great ideas with a gray-ish paint job and accent colors.  Check out our before and after photos and let me know what you think!  We’re pretty happy with the end result.

IMG_0361 IMG_20160405_105440494

The curtains are also up instead of the brown blinds and valances.  They are a shade of gray, but still much lighter than what was there before.  Supposed to be room darkening and we’ll test that out next Summer in Alaska.

Now we are on the final checklists.  Water tank sanitized – check!  Propane hose to our new portable campfire tested – check!  (Will send a picture of that in action during the trip)  All our stuff loaded – partial check!  Grocery run complete – check!  Celebratory confetti cake baked to take along – in the oven as I type – so partial check!  Route planned and campground reservations made – Check, check!

I’m hearing Eagles’ “Take It Easy” in my head.  See you down the highway!

18 thoughts on “Twas the Night Before the First Big Adventure

  1. Love the new bedroom! And nothing like a full size fridge! I agree about the ice cream—it’s in my genes as well! I am so excited for ya’ll! Have fun! Can’t wait to hear more and see pics!
    Sandra

    Like

  2. The bedroom looks great!! You even have one of your pictures hung. Nice to see they do not all have to be given away. You did a great job and the colors are perfect. Have fun – post often.

    Like

    • Yes, we do have some artwork in there. I’ll hang two more paintings on the opposite wall facing the front of the coach, but we ran out of time to do it for this trip. You know the rule. It goes with us or it must go! Taking your travel map along this time. Thanks Wendy

      Like

  3. Wow the makeover looks fabulous! Definitely an improvement, making it more cheerful and peaceful! Love the Eagles and can hear it too, so “Take it Easy” and enjoy your trip!

    Like

  4. Great job on the makeover!!! It looks so cozy and the colors are great. Hmm….thinking when you get up my way one day, I may need to enlist your decorating help. Safe and happy travels! Looking forward to the pics.
    PS: Who doesn’t like ice cream??

    Like

  5. Love the changes that you made! And I love this blog. Helps us to live vicariously through you! Good luck and good travels. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

